

12. 3. 2014 NEW GALLERY, PRAGUE CASTLE

# 15 YEARS OF THE CZECH REPUBLIC IN NATO - OUR SECURITY IS NOT GIVEN



## PROGRAMME OF THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE

organized by Jagello 2000 - Czech Euro-Atlantic Council

- 09.00 Registration of participants
- 10.00 Introduction by Zbyněk Pavlačík, Chairman, Jagello 2000 Association
- 10.05 Address by H.E. Miloš Zeman, President of the Czech Republic, followed by discussion

### 10.30 Panel 1 / Security environment and NATO beyond 2014

Chair: Jiří Schneider

Michael Žantovský, Ambassador to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland;
President, Aspen Institute Prague

Martin Povejšil, Permanent Representative to the EU; former Political Director, MFA

Jiří Šedivý, Permanent Representative to NATO

Petr Luňák, Faculty of Social Sciences, Charles University

#### 11.40 Panel 2 / Czech Republic in NATO: Membership benefits & future challenges

Chair: Daniel Koštoval, State Secretary, MoD

Jan Kohout, former Minister of Foreign Affairs

Gen. (Ret.) Jiří Šedivý, former Chief of Defence

Gen. Petr Pavel, Chief of Defence

Miloš Balabán, Head, Centre of Security Policy, Fac. of Soc. Sciences, Charles University

- 12.45 Jan Hamáček, Speaker, Chamber of Deputies, Parliament of the Czech Republic "Challenges and opportunities of the defence policy consensus-building in the parliament"
- 13.00 Lunch
- 14.30 Address by Lubomír Zaorálek, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic Address by Martin Stropnický, Minister of Defence of the Czech Republic

Introduction: Vlastimil Picek, adviser to the President of the Czech Republic, former Minister of Defence of the Czech Republic

14.45 Special Guest: Lord Robertson, former NATO Secretary General

Introduction: Hynek Kmoníček, Director, Foreign Department, Office of the President

### 15.00 Panel 3 / NATO Membership: Perspective of the parliamentary political parties

Chair: Karel Kovanda, former Permanent Representative to NATO

Wrap-up of the morning session: Daniel Koštoval, Jiří Schneider

Bohuslav Sobotka, Prime Minister and Chairman of ČSSD

Andrei Babiš, Chairman, ANO

Pavel Bělobrádek, Chairman, KDU-ČSL

Vojtěch Filip, Chairman, KSČM

Petr Fiala, Chairman, ODS

Karel Schwarzenberg, Chairman, TOP 09

Tomio Okamura, Chairman, Úsvit přímé demokracie

- 16.30 Remarks by Rastislav Káčer, President, Slovak Atlantic Commission
- 16.35 Conclusion by Alexandr Vondra, Honorary President, Czech Euro-Atlantic Council
- 16.40 Signature of the "Political declaration on the Czech Republic's defence"
- 16.55 Press foyer with chairmen of parliamentary political parties
- 17.10 Glass of wine
- 18.00 Conference closes

